sweet f.a.

francesca alva's adventures in the metaverse

bacon sammach plane

Once I was going to post about Burning Life. Once I was going to post about a lot of things. Anyway, the highlight of BL ’09 (if you don’t count the exploding toilet) was a freebie plane. Nothing can be sold at BL: it’s either a freebie or it isn’t available. Sadly the exploding toilet was in the latter category. The plane uses the basic SL controls and has the neat sound of a prop-driven plane. There all similarity to planes real or virtual ends. The name says it all, but the pics below say it even better.

I hadn’t used it for a while but the other day decided to take an aerial tour of Seogwipo, my home sim. I looked in Inventory  for the sammach and there it wasn’t. I did the usual: cleared cache, logged in at a different location, logged in on the Beta Grid; even lived dangerously and logged in with Viewer 2. Nothing, nada, zilch. A search of SL yielded nothing, so without much hope I Googled ‘bacon sammach plane”. There was a brief tussle of wills when Google insisted I meant “sammich” but I stuck to my guns. Apart from a couple of chat transcripts from November the only reference was in Emerald’s Eyes, a blog by Emerald Wynn. I IM’d her and asked her for the creator’s name. She got her plane at Burning Life ’10, now renamed Burn 2 (not a comment on the new Viewer AFAIK), and unlike mine, hers was full perm so she very kindly sent me one. I am so grateful to her: it may seem like a little thing, but I know from experience that many people ignore requests like that, so thank you once again, Emerald.

If, having read this, you realize that your life is incomplete without the sammach, please IM me and I’ll send you one. I want to spread the love (but get your own ketchup!)

And the talented creator? His name is Muttenchops Chaplin.

 

Saturday, 15 January 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Hi, I’m wondering if you can tell me how to fly this wonderful vehicle. It was given to me, but without any instructions.

    Many thanks.

    Comment by HMP | Friday, 4 January 2013 | Reply

  2. It IS wonderful isn’t it? 🙂 I’ll send you a n/c when I’m inworld, but it’s easy. Hop on the sammach and say Start. The plane will power up and then you move it using the regular movement controls. Page up/down makes it go higher or lower. When you want to power down just say Stop. If you lose it, or leave it anywhere for some time it will IM you its location. 🙂

    Comment by Francesca Alva | Saturday, 5 January 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much! I tried /start /fly and a ton of other things but just not “start” I guess.

    Comment by HMP | Sunday, 13 January 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

