sweet f.a.

francesca alva's adventures in the metaverse

The Bookbinder’s Ball

The fourth Annual Bookbinder’s Ball was held in beautiful Winterfell Anodyne on Friday, 27 August. The theme this year was Neverwhere: literature set in imaginary lands. Music was provided by Gabrielle Riel on Radio Riel Reverie. The Duchess, or Miz Gabi as we Taloosters call her, went as Lyra complete with daemon, from the His Dark Materials trilogy.

I toyed with the idea of going as Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz, and pressing Rosita, my VKC chihuahua, into service as Toto, but decided I’d go for something more formal. I briefly considered Galadriel, but thought the place would be awash with them. In the end I went as the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. I found a wonderful outfit on XStreet by Ainara Weisser. Here I am in my finery (I bought jewellery, crown, and shoes separately):

My fears about gazillions of Galadriels were unfounded: there was only one. There were, however, three of us who came as the Queen of Hearts. By the greatest of luck we were all dressed differently.

We had to guess the identity of the characters, and I doubt if anyone failed to guess me. I fared very badly, although I think I was one of the few (judging by her reaction) who correctly guessed Coppelia. One of my dance partners (well, OK then, my only dance partner) a most Byronic looking fellow, seemed to be a Southern gentleman, by his strictures on damn Yankees. His spelling suggested England (that’s old England, not New England LOL) rather than Dixie, however. He refused to give me any further clues, and it was only later that it occurred to me that he was probably Rhett Butler. The main drawback to that theory is that while the dashing Captain Butler may have been a fictional character, Atlanta, Georgia, is not, as far as I am aware :p, an imaginary place.

The winner of the contest, with 18 correct, was Miss CronoCloud Creeggan (a Talooster!) who went as Jadis, the White Witch of Narnia (another character I had briefly considered for myself). She won the coveted prize of bragging rights for a year.

Here is a picture of the Ball as it was winding down:

Tuesday, 31 August 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

