sweet f.a.

francesca alva's adventures in the metaverse

Coming to Second Life

Periodically someone will ask the highly-original question, “What brings you to Second Life?” I suppose it may be original to them, but to the seasoned SL-er it comes round with all the regularity (and is as eagerly-anticipated) of a Monday morning. I’m always tempted to answer that my ISP brought me. Recently someone added the rider that reasons such as real life illness, isolation, or lack of creative outlet were not acceptable answers because we’d all heard them before. Well that’s me done then.

I suppose it was curiosity that brought me in the first place. I read about SL on someone else’s website and decided to give it a go. I had heard of it about a year previously, but thought it was effectively no more than a chat room. It is that, of course, but with a difference: on SL you can be as much of a recluse as you can in real life. My feelings on first seeing the strange and vibrant world that is to a large-extent user-created were similar to first seeing television. We did not have TV until I was almost seven years old, and I can still remember the excitement of it, and that magical first evening when our little family sat together on the sofa drinking in the wonder of it. It’s probably not that convincing an analogy in an age when TV is ever-present in our lives from our earliest moments. Maybe Keats said it better:

Then felt I like some watcher of the skies

When a new planet swims into his ken;

Or like stout Cortez when with eagle eyes

He star’d at the Pacific — and all his men

Look’d at each other with a wild surmise —

Silent, upon a peak in Darien

 

Thursday, 12 August 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

