sweet f.a.

francesca alva's adventures in the metaverse

What’s in a name?

How does anyone choose their avatar name? Some people use their RL forename. Had I joined a year or so before I did, I could have had my RL surname. Some use wordplay; some roleplay.

My choice of last name was heavily influenced by the loss of my mother in 2006, a few months before I became a “Resident”. She was half Italian half French and her maiden name was Sephardic. I simply went down the list of names looking for one that was both Sephardic and Italian. I chose the first I found.

I toyed with the idea of using my RL forename, but I’ve never particularly liked it. I’ve noticed that many people seem dissatisfied with their given name. I wonder if it is something to do with identity. Your given name defines you to a certain extent, yet it is exactly that – given – you had no say in the matter. I have always loved the names Frances and Francesca and felt that I might have been a quite different person had I been called either, so now was my chance. I briefly entertained the idea of taking my mother’s forename, but decided that would confine me rather than define me, so Francesca Alva was born. I had no idea that there is a RL celebrity Francesca Alva – an Italian model. That would explain the numerous tp offers from random Italian guys I suppose, LOL.

And here’s something for the Freudians: Francesca started life with brown hair, blue eyes, and fair skin: my RL colouring. As the weeks went by she somehow acquired black hair, green eyes, and olive skin: my mother’s colouring. I didn’t even realize what I was doing!

I am my RL height of 5′ (1.5 m) though.

Saturday, 8 November 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

